September 1, 2013 12:00 pm /News /No Comments

Buenos Aires Hilton

There’s just one week to go to Decision Day in Buenos Aires, when the IOC decides which sport out of Squash, Baseball/Softball and Wrestling gets onto the programme for the Olympic Games of 2020.

All three sports are stepping up their campaigns, and for Squash Nicol David seems to be spearheading the process – she features on the new adverts, the recent “singalong” video was a a great addition, and in the buildup she’s been tweeting a daily countdown from around the world (@NicolDavid)

We’ve had a look at the efforts of all three sports over the last couple of weeks, but a major point as far as squash is concerned seems to be that if the IOC genuinely wants to have a new sport, then squash is the only option … but there’s no point in trying to second guess what the IOC really wants.

MUST READ: Spinning the Wheel of Olympic Fortune 

But what’s actually going to happen next, what are the final stages of the process that started with the initial shortlist of candidate sports in June 2011 (or in 2003 if you factor in the failed bids of the previous two cycles) ?

Here we go:

[jbox color=”red”]

IOC Session, Buenos Aires

The IOC meets in Buenos Aires from 7th to 10th September to decide, amongst other things, the host city for 2020 (7th), elect a new President (10th), and to finalist the sports programme (all about the 125th session).

As far as we’re concerned the important date is Sunday 8th September.

In the morning all three sports will make a final presentation, 20 minutes with a 10 minute question and answer each.

It’s done alphabetically, with Baseball/Softball first at, then Squash and followed by wrestling.

Then there’s a secret ballot with all the 104 delegates voting for their preferred option.

If one sport gets 50%+ of the vote that’s it, otherwise the lowest vote is eliminated and there’s a run off between the remaining two.

The IOC Schedule for Vote on Inclusion of Additional Sport:
Sunday 8th September (all times Buenos Aires)

9:00 President’s opening remarks
9:30 Report by the IOC Olympic Program Commission
10:15 Vote on the proposal for 25 Core Olympic Sports

Presentations of Candidate Sports

10:30 Baseball-Softball
11:00 Squash
11:30 Wrestling
12:00 Vote on possible additional sport for IOC program
12:45 Followed by announcement from IOC President Dr. Jacques Rogge

13:00 Press Conference for winning sport to follow announcement.

( Selected Times of the announcement: Los Angeles 08:45,  New York 11.45, London 16.45, Herentals 17.45, Madrid 17.45, Istanbul 20.45,  Kuala Lumpur 23.45, Tokyo 00:45, Sydey 01.45 )

 IOC Sessions Webcast

Each day of the IOC sessions – including the presentations by the cities, sports and presidential candidates – will be available over a webcast on the IOC site, www.olympic.org.

[ujicountdown id=”IOC Vote” expire=”2013/09/08 12:45″ style = “modern”]

And then we’ll know … fingers crossed everyone, fingers crossed …

[/jbox]

 

Social Share

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.